Grady Spencer & The Work + Blue Water Highway

29jan7:00 pm11:00 pmGrady Spencer & The Work + Blue Water HighwayTicketed Show7:00 pm - 11:00 pm Buy Tickets

Event Details

Join us for Grady Spencer & The Work + Blue Water Highway live at The Rustic Houston, a part of our Safe Sounds Music Series!

Buy Tickets

As always, The Rustic is dedicated to ensuring the safety of its guests and team members by operating with the highest standards of food safety, cleanliness and health precautions. In addition to following all capacity requirements and social distancing protocols, The Rustic has implemented enhanced cleaning and sanitation procedures. Some of the safety measures that will be implemented during the Safe and Sound Music Series include:

  • Dedicated table service
  • All guests will be seated at socially distanced tables
  • All tables will have limited seating
  • Masks are required by all guests and team members
  • Menus available through a QR code, to limit contact with servers
  • Staggered arrival times for guests, to space out their arrival
  • No standing room will be permitted. Guests will only be allowed to walk around when entering, exiting or going to the restroom in which they must be wearing a mask.
  • Photos and video will not be permitted
  • Increased security to ensure that all of the safety measures are being followed

Tickets (see seating map to select location): 
$15.00 – $30.00, Reserved Seating

About The Rustic’s Safe Sounds Music Series:
The Rustic is proud to introduce the Safe Sounds Music Series: an intimate, seated dinner and show experience where your safety is our top priority. In addition to following all capacity requirements and social distancing protocols, The Rustic has implemented enhanced cleaning and sanitation procedures. Click here to learn more about the additional safety measures that will be implemented during the Safe Sounds Music Series.

About Grady Spencer: 
Born in Lubbock and raised in the country outside of a town called Paducah, Grady Spencer’s roots dig deep into Texas soil. By day, Spencer is a foreman for a commercial construction company. By any other time, he’s songwriter and front-man of Grady Spencer & The Work.

The Work originally formed in 2013 on the stage of Paradox Church in Fort Worth, Texas. Drummer Blake Sager was joined by bassist Johnny Hatcher in 2016, followed by guitarist Tyler Martin in 2018. The Work’s music reflects its members: honest, good-timing, with a nod to blue-collar roots.

In 2013, the band recorded and self-produced its first album at 1916 Studios in Kyle, Texas. Released that same year, Sleep was the band’s first introduction to the Fort Worth music scene. “Things to Do” was eventually picked up by the Fort Worth Visitors Bureau via Tom Martens, and in 2017 the city sent Spencer and The Work to Niles City Sound to rerecord and release the track as a single.

Sophomore record The Line Between was primarily tracked at January Sound in Dallas, Texas. The band worked with Magnolia Records and released the album in 2016. The Line Between carried the band beyond Forth Worth city limits—a following started to crop up across the state and numbers rose on streaming platforms, catapulting The Work to their next album.

Celebrate, The Work’s most recent album, was recorded with Niles City Sound in Fort Worth, Texas in 2018. Celebrate is set to release June 2019.

About Blue Water Highway: 

Blue Water Highway comes from the working class, coastal town background that has informed the work of so many of rock’s greatest writers and artists. They take their name from the roadway that links their hometown of Lake Jackson, Texas to Galveston, where the cops, the teachers, the baristas, and the chemical plant workers travel to work hard and to play hard, blowing off steam, dancing to their favorite bands. Blue Water Highway’s music is the soundtrack for their lives.

“Best Friend” is the first single from their album Heartbreak City, which came out on Blue Water Highway Records/Thirty Tigers on June 8th, 2018. With a hook that’s a mile wide, it chronicles the lives, loves and friendships that sustain us. Said lead singer Zack Kibodeaux, “We wrote this as a band, and we wanted to tap into the feeling of that special friendship where you know you can count on one another. Even though I wrote characters that are not the band members, our relationship definitely informed the writing of the lyrics.”

Blue Water Highway was started by two best friends from high school- Kibodeaux (lead vocals/guitar) and Greg Essington (vocals/guitar). Zack then turned to Catherine Clarke (vocals/keyboard), to complete the three-part harmonies that the band would soon to be known for, and they were joined by Kyle Smith (bass), and Jared Wilson (drums). They will be touring relentlessly to support Heartbreak City, so look for them in a town near you soon.



Buy Tickets


(Friday) 7:00 pm - 11:00 pm


Houston, Downtown | 1836 Polk Street Houston, Texas 77003