november, 2020

27nov9:30 pm11:00 pmFriendsgiving with Mike & The MoonpiesFree with RSVP9:30 pm - 11:00 pm Dallas, Uptown | 3656 Howell St Dallas, Texas 75204RSVP Now


Event Details

Join us for an evening with Mike & The Moonpies at The Rustic Dallas!

***This event is free with RSVP. Seating will be subject to availability, on a first come first served basis.***


About Mike & The Moonpies:
“The Year’s Most Sophisticated Country Album….” Rolling Stone Country

Mike and the Moonpies released their sixth studio album, ‘Cheap Silver and Solid Country Gold,’ today. Produced by Adam Odor, this project was recorded at Abbey Road Studios with help from the London Symphony Orchestra and is the Austin-based band’s most adventurous record to date — an album that diversifies the band’s honky-tonk roots by adding lush strings, cinematic arrangements, and collaborative songwriting to the mix. Inspired in part by the classic “countrypolitan” music of the 1960s and early ’70s, these songs find frontman Mike Harmeier channeling the smooth delivery of crooners like Glen Campbell and Frank Sinatra, backed by a band of road warriors who all played a major role in the songs’ construction. The result is a modern record steeped in everything that made their previous work so compelling: sharp storytelling; honest, dynamic performances; and a willingness to step far outside the box turning vintage influences into a contemporary that’s dark, reflective, and refined.

Although largely recorded in London, ‘Cheap Silver and Solid Country Gold’ still owes its inception to Texas, where the bandmates (pedal steel player Zach Moulton, guitarist Catlin Rutherford, bassist Omar Oyoque, keyboardist John Carbone, drummer Kyle Ponder) spent a week co-writing and arranging the eight-song collection at renowned yellow DOG Studios in Wimberley, TX. “Everyone had a hand in the creation process, from start to finish,” says Harmeier, who shares co-writing credits with multiple Moonpies throughout the album. “I usually come to the table with all the songs already written, but this album is entirely different. We worked on everything together. It was the most collaborative thing we’ve ever done. It was truly the work of a band.”

The stunningly beautiful and nostalgic ‘Cheap Silver’ opens the album with Harmeier taking stock of his band’s progress as an eight-piece string section swoons in the background while the album’s lead single, “You Look Good in Neon,” is a timeless toe-tapper that evokes Ronnie Milsap’s golden years.  On “Danger” — a hard-charging epic that’s fit for a Hollywood western, with a cameo by Shooter Jennings to boot — Harmeier sings directly to his son.

The band resurrects the twangy spirit of their dancehall days with “If You Want A Fool Around,” written by Billy Troy and Bennie Boling, and also put their own stamp on Aaron Sinclair’s “Young in Love.”

“Fast as Lightning” is a raucous road song that’s every bit as electrifying as its title. Also making guest appearances on the album are modern-day outlaw Nikki Lane, who contributes harmony vocals to “Miss Fortune,” and fellow Texas native Season Ammons, who shows up during the elegant cover of Gary P. Nunn’s “London Homesick Blues.”

“Every time we’ve taken a step forward, it’s a result of us refusing to become stagnant,” says Harmeier. “We left our dancehall residencies years ago because we wanted to expand our touring beyond Texas. We updated our approach with Mockingbird, then went back to a more traditional sound — in a 1970s, Johnny Paycheck-inspired way — with  Steak Night at the Prairie Rose. 10 years into our career, we’re still finding our voice… and we’re realizing that maybe it’s not one voice, but a collection of voices.”

Mike and the Moonpies last studio album ‘Steak Night At The Prairie Rose’ was one of 2018’s best reviewed releases as evident by their presence on numerous “Best Of” lists including nods from Rolling Stone Country for “40 Best Country and Americana Albums of 2018” and “25 Best Country and Americana Songs of 2018” and Saving Country Music named them the #1 Best Live Performance of 2018.

The band will tour nationally throughout the summer and fall including an appearance at Pickathon in Happy Valley, OR today where they will play the new album in full for the first time. Other stops include Americanafest in Nashville, TN; Athens, GA; Birmingham, AL; Charlotte, NC and more.

TIPS for the show:
We’ll have our full menu available all day!
— ARRIVE EARLY: Please note for all RSVP’s: all seating is first come, first served and based on availability.
— BRING CASH: we do accept credit cards at our main bars, but most pop up bars & beer tubs in Pat’s Backyard are cash only.
— TICKETING QUESTIONS? Contact Prekindle Online Ticketing at
— PARKING: There is limited parking at The Rustic.
— RIDE SHARING is strongly suggested. Don’t drink and drive
— YOUR SAFETY IS OUR TOP PRIORITY: The Rustic is operating at limited occupancy and adhering to all CDC and Dallas County guidelines and regulations to ensure your safety.


(Friday) 9:30 pm - 11:00 pm


Dallas, Uptown | 3656 Howell St Dallas, Texas 75204